My upcoming posts – on Nokia N82 and comparison between HTC & N82

My upcoming posts –

1. How to install unsigned applications on the Nokia N82 phones –
Instead of reproducing the entire contents from other sites, I will provide link to the site which in my opinion is best and easiest of all to understand.

2. Moving from HTC Touch to Nokia N82 – Whether a wise decision…
I have recently switched from HTC Touch to Nokia N82. I have been comparing the features of both the phones and usability. This article will stress more on the user experience aspect then the technical aspect.

For time being, note this:

GPS:

If you are planing to buy the N82 for GPS, FORGET IT. The GPS coverage of the N82 is abysmal. I have tried it on the roads of Mumbai and you will be in for great disappointment but when it works (though in patches), its awesome.

So I wouldnt really take the GPS as an advantage as google maps works better for me.

SPEED:

This is one area where N82 beats the HTC Touch hands down. Its smooth, fast and responsive – even if there are number of applications running in the background.

CAMERA:

I guess there is not much to compare between the cameras… N82 is simply superb… I would recommend users to try the Panoman application that comes bundled with the N82.

2 comments on “My upcoming posts – on Nokia N82 and comparison between HTC & N82

  1. im just reffering to your comment about the n82 internal gps you say its slow well you should try the n95-8gb it takes up to 20mins to lock onto satelites. the n82 is not slow in the uk in fact its really fast at locking on with full signal sitting in my house the n95-8gb doesent work indoors.

  2. @jason

    In India & that too in prime location in Mumbai (Bombay), if your GPS is unable to lock in 2-5 minutes, according to me, the GPS cannot even be considered as “average”.

    In open areas, the GPS in N82 works fine. Sometimes even in congested areas it works but inside buildings… never experienced that.

    I have not had 1st hand experience of N95 but users said even they faced probs during locking onto satellites.

    In India, I feel, nokia has not done a decent job with the GPS receivers though maps are good.

Leave a Reply

