Setup Adhoc WiFi Connection in Windows Vista

Vista allows you to create temporary networks for connecting wireless devices. No wireless access point required! This comes in handy when you need to transfer files to someone else’s laptop in class or at a meeting. To create an Ad Hoc network, follow these steps:

1. Click the Start Button and select Control Panel.

2. Select Network and Internet. (If Control Panel is in Classic View, skip this step)

3. Open Network and Sharing Center.

4. Select Set up a connection or network (in the left pane).

5. In the resulting window, select Set up a wireless ad hoc (computer-to-computer) network.

6. Click Next and again on the following page.

7. In the Network name textbox, input a name for the network.

8. Select a security type from the dropdown. (If you select WEP, you will need to enter a security key in the unghosted textbox)

9. If you want to use this network more than once, check the Save this network checkbox, if you only need it for a one time fix, leave the checkbox unchecked.

10. Click Next.

11. Click Close.

Your network is now created and can be accessed by other computers in the same manner as connecting to a regular wireless connection. If you utilized WEP, then you will need to give them the security key. If you did not opt to save the network during creation, it will be deleted when everyone has disconnected from it.

27 comments on “Setup Adhoc WiFi Connection in Windows Vista

  1. hi could u please tell me how to set up the ad hoc network on ubuntu 7.10….i want to tether my iphone to ubuntu so that i can use the internet connection on my iphone…i have given my e-mail address above
    any help wil be appreciated ..thank u

  2. I havent used iphone. So cant tell more about it. But for ubuntu + htc touch the procedure is – Create a wireless network profile, Turn on wifi on both – pc n HTC. Now HTC will detect wifi on ubuntu and will try n connect. Provide password, if required. Once connected, select the wifi network setting option in HTC to connect to the internet. Next open browser in HTC n it will connect using wifi.

  3. i want to how to create an wireless ad hoc connection in windows vista home premium as there is no option in my stpu network connection window for establishing ad hoc network

  4. Hi,

    I am trying to connect my Windows XP-desktop with My Wifi Enabled Windows Vista-Laptop, using Netgear W111 USB. The Netgear is in my desktop, which is configured to computer to computer Adhoc and My Laptop is able to detect the Wireless Name but unable to connect.

    Can you please let me know what must be wrong. No wireless access point anywhere

  5. @karkotagan

    What security have you set for wifi?

    Try the following steps – (as reproduced from http://www.adventsweeps.com/?p=8. It is an excellent tutorial)

    VISTA NOTEBOOK

    Open Network and Sharing Center in VISTA notebook

    Click Manage network connections

    In the Pop Up window

    Double click LOCAL AREA CONNECTION

    In the properties window

    Select Tcp/Ipv4 and Click properties

    Select OBTAIN IP automatically

    Click OK to close the windows

    Select Tcp/Ipv6 and Click properties

    Select OBTAIN IP automatically

    Click OK to close the windows

    Repeat the same with WIRELESS NETWORK CONNECTION

    Close the window

    On the Network and Sharing Center

    You would find SHARING AND DISCOVERY on the page

    SET

    Network Discovery ON

    File Sharing ON

    Public folder sharing ON (optional)

    Password protection sharing OFF

    other options are optional (doesnt req)

    Click Set up a Connection or Network ( From the left panel tasks)

    Double click Set Up a wireless ad hoc (comp to comp) network

    Click Next

    Give A Network name (for your WLAN) For Eg… WLAN1

    Select Security Type from the drop down menu as either WEP or No authentication(Open)

    (WAP-2 is not supported in XP)(WEP is better for security reasons)

    Give a security password if u select WEP (not req for open) Eg. password 12345

    Select Save this network if u want to save the network

    Click Next

    Now Close the window YOUR network has been set up.

    In the XP run Notebook-

    Go to My Network Places

    Click View Network Connections

    Double click LOCAL AREA CONNECTION

    In the properties window Select Tcp/Ip and Click properties

    Select OBTAIN IP automatically

    Click OK to close the windows

    Repeat the same with WIRELESS NETWORK CONNECTION

    Close the window

    RightClick WIRELESS NETWORK CONNECTION

    Select View Available Wireless Connection

    In the Window you would find the network you have set up in the VISTA notebook (EG.WLAN1)

    If not, click the refresh button.

    DoubleClick the available network

    Insert the password you have selected (Eg.. 12345)

    Finish the Set-Up process

    Wait for 2 minutes

    Now your network is ready to use.

    If the Network is not working

    In the Vista Notebook

    Click DIAGNOSE AND REPAIR in Network and Sharing center (Vista)

    If there is a problem

    A window will pop up with options like

    RESET ADAPTER

    AUTOMATICALLY OBTAIN IP

    do one of them and try the network again

    if it is still not working

    try both options

    if still it doesnt work

    Disable the adapter and then Enable it again

    Connect the network and try again

    The network should work

    Sharing Internet connection through WLAN

    First check out whether the net connection is Single USER or Multiple user

    IF it is single user and also need authentication for each internet connection.. IT would be a

    problem

    If Multiple user, follow the following

    Connect the Internet to the Vista Notebook

    Open Network and Sharing Center in VISTA notebook

    Click Manage network connections

    In the Pop Up window

    Select both THE LOCAL AREA CONNECTION and WIRELESS NETWORK CONNECTION

    Right Click the selection and select Bridge connection

    Wait for 2 minutes

    TRY the network again

    You would get the internet in both the computers.

    Enjoy your WLAN

    Also try these links:

    http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/using/networking/setup/adhoc.mspx

    http://www.home-network-help.com/ad-hoc-wireless-network.html

  6. i have tried to creat a ah hoc but for some reason i don’t see the option for adhoc
    user step 5
    need help
    since i need to tether my iphone

  7. i want connect two lappys 1. vista home premium 2. ubuntu gutsy … wirelessly using vista ad-hoc connection or otherwise.Plz hlp…

  8. @ness

    Go to My Network Places – Click View Network Connections

    Double click LOCAL AREA CONNECTION

    In the properties window Select Tcp/Ip and Click properties

    Select OBTAIN IP automatically – Click OK to close the windows

    Repeat the same with WIRELESS NETWORK CONNECTION – Close the window

    RightClick WIRELESS NETWORK CONNECTION

    Select View Available Wireless Connection

    DoubleClick the available network

    Insert the password you have selected (Eg.. 12345)

    Finish the Set-Up process

    Wait for 2 minutes

    Now your network is ready to use.

    @shalini

    Creating ad hoc connection in ubuntu should not be a problem. You can try searching for wireless networks from tray icon and connect when prompted.

    Check here for further details – https://help.ubuntu.com/community/WifiDocs/Adhoc

  9. Hi,
    I am able to connect my desktop n laptop (32 bit and 64 bit vista respectively) via ad hoc, but i cannot seem to be able to share anything, or play games in LAN.
    Would this have to do with the firewall blocking the ports, or does ad hoc itself not allow you to share files, and/or lpay games in LAN

  10. Hi there,
    I’ve created the adhoc network but how do i connect my printer wirelessly?
    I have done the printer setup and chose to connect wireless it detected the adhoc network but i can’t find the adhoc under networks on my laptop in order to connect the printer to it!
    When i set the printer up it found the network and printed a testpage off wirelessly but the usb was plugged in and when i unplugged the usb the printer said it was disconnected.
    This is proper confusing because in a ordinary network you click on networks – choose network – click printers and connect the printer its straight forward so how do i connect this way using the adhoc is what i need to know please, cheers

  11. Hi
    I set up N ad-hoc network on my dell studio laptop and I go on my iPhone to put the network in wifi n when I put the password in which I know for a fact is correct it tells me unable to conect network and failed to join network.. How do I make it work do I need proxy or something imso confuesed pls email me back thanks…

  12. how do I disable the security LOL… I’m not very smart as u can see so you’ll need to explain everything I have to do in order for me to get it.. But also I am using the dell studio laptop and the iPhone just to let u know so pls help me

  13. Hi,
    I have a Iphone 3G and need to use my PC’s Internet connection on the phone via ad hoc network. I have setup the adhoc network, but I’m unable to use the PC’s internet on the phone. How do i do it?

  14. hiiiii
    ur suggestions are appreciated, but i have other one.
    i want to connect my vista home lapi with my iphone to use my broaband in iphone.
    i did everything, have made an adhoc network , even my iphone shows that there is a wireless network connected and both iphone and computer shows that they are connected . still i cant use my net in iphone. what and where is the problem. can u help me
    thanx

  15. Hey, I follow your step but there is a problem:
    The laptop itself sees the network with the status “Waiting for users to connect”. It seems to be OK but my HTC Hero phone does not see this network. (I want to connect the phone to Internet via the LAN connection of lapop)

  16. Hello!

    Please if you can help me that would be great. I have to say I am a n00b at this.

    Laptop –
    DELL VOSTRO 1014 Laptop
    Windows XP Home Edition (Service Pack 3)

    The Problem I’m having is that I can create the Ad-Hoc connection and see it in my wireless connections. But when I click on it to connect It says “waiting for network…” and doesn’t do anything after that.
    Do i need to make any settings regarding the IP addresses. I want to make my wifi work as a wifi router so that a can use wifi on my mobile.

    Anyways,
    I set the Ad-Hoc network up like this:
    -Network Connections
    – Right click on “Wireless Network Connections”
    -Properties

    – Wireless Network Tab
    – Check “Use Windows to configure my network settings
    – Click on Advanced button
    – Click on “Computer-to-Computer (ad-hoc) networks only”
    – Click on “Automaticly connect to non-preferred networks

    – Click Add
    – Typed in “TEST” under Network Name (SSID)
    – Network Authentication “Open”
    – Data Encryption “Disabled”
    – Connection Tab
    – Check “Connect to network when in range”
    – Click “Ok”
    – Click “Ok”

    At this point I can View my wireless networks and it will show “TEST” Computer-to-Computer Network. The little logo shows a computer with wifi waves pointing to another computer. The signal is all 5 bars green and great signal.

    – Select “TEST”
    – Click “Connect”

    And then it just says “waiting for network…” and the waiting bar goes. But that’s it. After about a minute the screen goes away and I’m still not connected to it. It doesn’t say that I’m connected, doesn’t say “limited or no connectivity” It just stops.

    Please help me….

  17. running vista anytime i try adhoc after going through the steps it says windows could not set up “networkname” Help!

Leave a Reply

